Soundtrack: Our Idiot Brother

The Original Soundtrack for the motion picture “Our Idiot Brother” is out, featuring tracks by recording artists such as Fruit Bats, Generationals, Eric D. Johnson, Nathan Larson, Nina Persson, Mindy Smith, Willie Nelson, Carole King and others. Full soundtrack track listing below.

Click image to stream the album at Paste Magazine

   Our Idiot Brother Original Soundtrack Track Listing:

 1. Eric D. Johnson – “Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round the Ole Oak Tree”
2. Willie Nelson – “Wonderful Future”
3. Nathan Larson & Eric D. Johnson – “The Main Title”
4. Generationals – “They Fight, They Fight”
5. Fruit Bats – “Lightning Bug”
6. Nathan Larson – “Mellotron Melody”
7. Willie Nelson – “Midnight Rider”
8. Mindy Smith & Daniel Tashian – “Taking You With Me”
9. Nathan Larson & Eric D. Johnson – “The Harvest Theme”
10. Thao with the Get Down Stay Down – “Cool Yourself”
11.  Willie Nelson – “Ol’ Blue”
12. Nathan Larson & Eric D. Johnson – “The Taxi”
13. Eric D. Johnson & Nathan Larson featuring Nina Persson – “Cowboys and Hobos”
14. Eric D. Johnson – “2 Roadrunners”
15. El May – “The Things You Lost”
16. Carole King – “Beautiful”

Order the soundtrack here

“Our Idiot Brother” stars Paul Rudd, Elizabeth Banks, Zooey Deschanel, Emily Mortimer, Steve Coogan, Hugh Dancy, Kathryn Hahn, Rashida Jones, Adam Scott, T.J. Miller and Shirley Knight.  Every family has one: the sibling with a peculiar knack for messing things up, despite having nothing but good intentions.  For sisters Liz (Emily Mortimer), Miranda (Elizabeth Banks) and Natalie (Zooey Deschanel), that person is their perennially upbeat brother Ned (Paul Rudd), a biodynamic farmer whose willingness to rely on the honesty of mankind is a less-than-optimum strategy for a tidy, trouble-free existence.  Ned may be utterly lacking in common sense, but he is their brother and so, after his girlfriend dumps him and boots him off the farm, his sisters once again come to his rescue. Deschanel who is also a successful musician, noted, “Jesse Peretz has amazing taste in music and the soundtrack he assembled for “Our Idiot Brother” is stellar; with great original music as well as classics, it’s a wonderful mix to behold.”

 As Liz, Miranda and Natalie each take a turn at housing Ned, his natural guilelessness proves to be a very unnatural fit with their daily lives.  As their worlds are turned upside-down, they fix their blame on Ned, who always seems to be in the middle of every misunderstanding, forever saying or doing the exact wrong thing at the exact wrong time.  Ultimately, it will fall to Ned to say and do something that will shake his siblings out of their assumptions – and cause them to realize that maybe their brother, with his genius for enjoying life and appreciating those he loves, isn’t such an idiot after all.

The Our Idiot Brother soundtrack album’s 16 tracks are a reflection of the film’s mirthful quirkiness.  The score was written by film composer, musician and author Nathan Larson (Boys Don’t Cry, The Woodsman and The Messenger) and Fruit Bats’ founder Eric D. Johnson (who also scored 2010’s Ceremony).  Larson added “Mellotron Melody” to the lineup while Johnson provided a counter-intuitively cool version of “Tie a Yellow Ribbon Round the Ole Oak Tree.” The sentimental evergreen that got Tony Orlando and Dawn‘s career off and running in the 1970s was a “put” from director Jesse Peretz who explained, “Arrow, my three year old daughter, loved ‘Tie A Yellow Ribbon’ so much that she would make me play it for her on the way to school every day.  As a consequence, the song was totally ingrained in my head as we worked on the music for the film.  Eric cut a new version of the song that we played for Arrow who gave it a big ‘thumbs-up.’  It worked out perfectly for the film; I think we might have a budding little music supervisor on our hands.”

Leave a comment

Filed under listen, new albums

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.