Tag Archives: Danny Brown

The Old Danny Brown Tour

After topping multiple best of 2013 year end lists, Danny Brown will embark on the first official tour in support of his critically acclaimed studio debut, Old.  “The Old Danny Brown Tour” will see the Fool’s Gold MC kick off dates in Europe, stopping over at SXSW and then weaving his way across the United States with a 28 date run.  Recently, Danny has shared the stage with everyone from Sleigh Bells and Baauer to Trash Talk and Action Bronson, along with a special appearance from Megan James of Purity Ring, when he made his late night TV debut on Jimmy Kimmel Live.


  • 3/22 – New Orleans, LA    Buku
  • 4/02 – Syracuse, NY    Schine Underground
  • 4/03 – Burlington, VT    Higher Ground
  • 4/04 – Northampton, MA    Pearl Street
  • 4/05 – Providence, RI    The Met
  • 4/06 – NY, NY    Bowery Ballroom
  • 4/08 – Brooklyn, NY    Music Hall Of Williamsburg
  • 4/09 – Boston, MA    Paradise
  • 4/11 – Charlottesville, VA    Jefferson Theater
  • 4/12 – Carrboro, NC    Cat’s Cradle
  • 4/13 – Columbus, OH    A&R Bar
  • 4/15 – Pittsburgh, PA    Altar Bar
  • 4/16 – Buffalo, NY    Waiting Room
  • 4/19 – Poughkeepsie, NY         Vassar College
  • 4/22 – Lansing, MI    The Loft
  • 4/24 – Urbana, IL    Canopy Club
  • 4/25 – Madison, WI    Majestic
  • 4/27 – Columbia, MO    Blue Note
  • 4/29 – Fort Collins, CO    Aggie Theater
  • 4/30 – Albuquerque, NM    Sunshine
  • 5/02 – San Diego, CA    Porter’s
  • 5/03 – Los Angeles, CA    El Rey Theater
  • 5/04 – Santa Ana, CA    Observatory
  • 5/06 – Santa Barbara, CA    Casa De La Raza
  • 5/07 – Santa Cruz, CA    Catalyst
  • 5/09 – Eugene, OR    Wow Hall
  • 5/10 – Seattle, WA    Showbox
  • 5/11 – Portland, OR    Roseland
  • 5/13 – Salt Lake City, UT    Complex
  • 5/15 – Gulf Shores, AL    Hangout  Festival


Filed under Shows, video

Ambassadeurs – “Make Me”


Ambassadeurs caps a fine year with his latest production, “Make Me”, an epic, bass heavy number complete with his signature melodic flourishes.

Ambassadeurs’ leftfield electronic music is fast making a name for the young Brighton-based producer. His recent Alone In The Night and Trouble EPs brought him further acclaim from XLR8R, Noisey, Mixmag, This Is Fake DIY and beyond.

He’s amassed over 1 million SoundCloud plays and hit XLR8R’s most downloaded annual chart (2012) with the EPs Come A Little Closer (released on Jalapeno) and M.O.P.E (released on his Lost Tribe imprint), and remixes for labels such as Tru Thoughts, Ninja Tune, Moshi Moshi, Fat Cat, Wah Wah 45s and others.

Ambassadeurs (aka Mark Dobson) started out learning his craft on an 8-bit Amiga computer, wrestling with the notoriously tricky Octamed while the rest of us were playing Lemmings. After the requisite teenage years in psychedelic rock bands, he upgraded to Logic and began working with electronic instruments, getting inside the machinery to make them sound the way he wanted.

Taking cues from dub, hip-hop, bass and jazz, but sounding like none of these genres, Ambassadeurs’ sound is hard to pigeonhole. His distinctive style can be attributed to a Tobin-like love for turning found sounds into samples and processing them beyond recognition – creating music as unique as his talent.

An impressive live show has rapidly brought him a growing following. And it’s not only new fans; he’s caught the ear of artists including Danny Brown, Gold Panda, Daedelus, Kelpe and Star Slinger, who’ve chosen him for support shows.

Ambassadeurs will drop his next full EP for Pilot in February 2014.

Listen: Ambassadeurs – “Make Me” (also available for a free download in exchange for an email address)

Leave a comment

Filed under Awesome, listen

Fool’s Gold Clubhouse!!!

For practically five years running, Brooklyn-based label Fool’s Gold has continued to find new ways to excite and surprise their fans, whether it’s releasing new music ranging from Duck Sauce to Danny Brown, throwing massive free parties like their annual Day Off events, opening a retail store in Williamsburg (home to everything from tie dye logo tees to FG x Members Only leather jackets), or most recently, launching a premium digital subscription service with drip.fm.

The latest multimedia project from the DJ braintrust of label founders A-Trak and Nick Catchdubs is the FOOL’S GOLD CLUBHOUSE, a series of festival stages and free monthly compilations featuring Fool’s Gold artists and extended family. The first Clubhouse stage takes place at New York’s Camp Bisco on 7/14 before taking over music festivals around the globe all summer, and the debut Clubhouse compilation is available starting today on the Fool’s Gold website, with new volumes to follow each month.

“Our friends and peers are having a very exciting and prolific moment right now,” says Nick Catchdubs. “As the world goes crazy for all things ‘EDM,’ its important to showcase the diversity that’s out there in dance music on all levels, and curate these songs and stages with the Fool’s Gold touch. A-Trak and I really get to be fans ourselves as we put these together, thinking about how good it’s all going to sound when it’s played loud.”

Download: Fool’s Gold Clubhouse – Vol. 1


1. His Majesty Andre & Elisa Bee “Cargobum”

2. XXXChange “U My Fantasy”

3. Peo De Pitte & Jay Robinson “The Bagger”

4. Oscar Luweez “Festa Festa”

5. Meech “Somethin”

6. Donovans “House Of God”

7. Sammy Bananas “Feel House”

8. Anna Lunoe “Up & Down”


Leave a comment

Filed under downloads, Whoa!

Kid Sister – “Gucci Rag Top” remix feat. Danny Brown

After some serious time in the studio working on her next full-length album, Kid Sister is releasing a new EP, Kiss & Tell, on November 29th on Fool’s Gold Records. The MC born Melisa Young not only spent 2011 tearing down shows all over North America – from the Magic 8 Ball tour with A-Trak to NYC’s 80,000 deep Electric Zoo festival – but managed to bring that boundless on-stage energy to sessions with some of today’s most exciting producers.

The EP offers four of Kid Sister’s latest tracks with a diverse crew of collaborators. “Mickey” is a club workout from heavy hitting DJ/producer duo Nadastrom (Dave Nada and Matt Nordstrom who are currently helping pilot Skrillex’s sold-out Mothership tour), while “Hide N Seek” pairs Kid Sis with rap absurdist Riff Raff and bass maestros Sinden & 5kin&Bone5. Hip-hop hero Scoop Deville (Snoop, Game, Fat Joe) mans the boards for “Cliq Claq” (as featured in Stella McCartney‘s recent runway shows) as well as a brand-new remix of “Gucci Rag Top,” now featuring a guest verse from fellow Fool’s Gold rapper Danny Brown.

Click image to check out Kid Sister's facebook page


1. Mickey (Produced by Nadastrom)

2. Hide & Seek feat. Riff Raff (Produced by Sinden & 5kinandbone5)

3. Cliq Claq (Produced by Scoop Deville)

4. Gucci Rag Top (Remix) feat. Danny Brown (Produced by Scoop Deville)

Leave a comment

Filed under Check 'em Out!, listen, video