Tag Archives: Ray Davies

Cheap Trick Announce Their First Christmas Album

Festive Collection Includes Brand New Cheap Trick Christmas Classics Alongside Favorites by Wizzard, Slade, Chuck Berry, The Ramones, The Kinks, Harry Nilsson & More

Rock & Roll Hall of Famers Spend 14th week Atop the Classic Rock Chart with “Long Time Coming”

Cheap Trick will rock in the Yuletide season with the release of their first holiday-themed album CHRISTMAS CHRISTMAS, out October 20 on Big Machine Records. Arriving mere months after their critically-acclaimed 18th studio album WE’RE ALL ALRIGHT!Cheap Trick co-produced the holiday collection alongside their longtime collaborator, GRAMMY® Award winner Julian Raymond (Glen Campbell, Fastball). With CHRISTMAS CHRISTMAS, Cheap Trick delivers a sleigh full of Rock & Roll Christmas classics and festive favorites by Wizzard, Slade, Chuck Berry, The Ramones and The Kinks as well as newly penned offerings like the joyous lead track, “Merry Christmas Darlings.” Explore Cheap Trick’s PledgeMusic campaign here: http://smarturl.it/CTChristmas.

1. “Merry Christmas Darlings” | Robin Zander, Rick Nielsen, Tom Petersson
2. “I Wish It Could Be Christmas Every Day” | Roy Wood
3. “I Wish It Was Christmas Today” | Jimmy Fallon, Horatio Sanz
4. “Merry Xmas Everybody” | Neville Holder, Jim Lea
5. “Please Come Home For Christmas” | Charles Brown, Jr., Gene Redd
6. “Remember Christmas” | Harry Nilsson
7. “Run Rudolph Run” | Marvin Brodie, Johnny Marks
8. “Father Christmas” | Ray Davies
9. “Silent Night” | Traditional – Franz Xaver Gruber, Joseph Mohr; Arrangement by Robin Zander, Julian Raymond
10. “Merry Christmas (I Don’t Want To Fight Tonight)” | Joey Ramone
11. “Our Father Of Life” | Robin Zander, Rick Nielsen, Tom Petersson
12. “Christmas Christmas” | Rick Nielsen, Robin Zander, Tom Petersson

The Rock & Roll Hall of Famers – whose four-decade-plus career has seen them play more than 5,000 shows and counting – remain on the road this fall for a string of U.S. headline dates, long-awaited Canadian run as special guests on Nickelback’s “Feed The Machine” arena tour and a top-billed set at Pembroke Pines, FL’s upcoming Rockfest 80’s (November 4). Additional dates – including some very special CHRISTMAS CHRISTMAS concerts – will be announced soon. For complete details and ticket availability, please visit CheapTrick.com.

Cheap Trick will also be among the icons performing at Rock Getaway 2017, an all-star, all-inclusive weekend event set for the Hard Rock Hotel in Rivera Maya, Mexico October 26-November 1. Set to appear on October 29, Cheap Trick joins a truly extraordinary lineup of legends including Steve Miller Band, Roger Daltrey, Foreigner, Blue Öyster Cult, Bad Company, Los Lobos, and many more. Limited packages are still available; for detail, please visit www.rockgetaway.com.

23 – Saskatoon, SK – Sasktel Sports Centre *
26 – Calgary, AB – Scotiabank Saddledome *
28 – Edmonton, AB – Rogers Place *
1 – Vancouver, BC – Rogers Arena *
27 – Mahnomen, MN – Shooting Star Casino
29 – Riviera Maya, MX – Rock Getaway 2017 +
4 – Pembroke Pines, FL – Rockfest 80’s +
10 – Hampton Beach, NH – Hampton Beach Casino Ballroom
11 – Shippensburg, PA – Luhrs Performing Arts Center
12 – Jim Thorpe, PA – Penn’s Peak
16 – Wilmington, DE – The Queen
18 – Port Chester, NY – The Capitol Theatre
* w/Nickelback
+ Festival Performance



Leave a comment

Filed under new albums, Shows, Whoa!

Video: The Leisure Society – “Fight For Everyone”


Double Ivor Novello nominees The Leisure Society are to release a brand new album, Alone Aboard The Ark, on April 16 through Full Time Hobby. The new LP – recorded at Kinks frontman Ray Davies‘ Konk Studios – is the follow up to 2011’s lauded Into The Murky Water, which the band toured in ever distinctive fashion, including a date at the London Barbican backed by the 40-piece Heritage Orchestra. The band is planning to make the trip for the first time across the pond to play in America later this year.

Fittingly, Alone Aboard The Ark sees the band expanding their arcadian, Baroque pop sound with a more diverse array of sounds and inventive orchestration. Following a summer of rehearsals beside the River Ouse in Befordshire, The Leisure Society decamped to Konk Studios to begin recording the tracks that would become Alone Aboard The Ark. Having declared himself a fan of The Leisure Society, Kinks frontman Ray Davies (owner of Konk) originally sought out the band to help him arrange and record his new solo material, and also included the band in his curation of 2011’s Meltdown Festival on the South Bank.

The genesis of The Leisure Society spans back to the friendship made by Nick Hemming and Christian Hardy in their hometown of Burton on Trent. When the pair relocated to London they fell in with the Brighton-based Wilkommen Collective, and with Helen Whitaker, Mike Siddell and Sebastian Hankins, came to form The Leisure Society. The single “The Last of The Melting Snow” from their debut LP The Sleeper was nonimated for a 2009 Ivor Novello (alongside heavyweights such as Elbow & The Last Shadow Puppets), and the band joined an incredibly select group when a year later, “Save It For Someone Who Cares” was also nominated for an Ivor.

Lyrically, Alone Aboard The Ark is an album informed by a palette as eclectic as it’s musical flesh. Album standout “The Sober Scent of Paper” is a hair-raising waltz informed somewhat unconsciously by the demise of Sylvia Plath: “When I began writing” says Nick “I didn’t know what it was going to be about. For some reason, the first line “Chains dredge the great lake around you / Pull you along by the knots in your hair” made me think of her. I guess it’s quite a dark desolate image”. Yet there’s light to this shade, with “Tearing The Arches Down” marrying a wryly observed narrative “The boy with the bloodshot eyes / A legend in your lunchtime” to an ebullient chant.

Having recorded both The Sleeper and 2011’s follow-up Into The Murky Water in home studios, the range of technology both old and new at the band’s disposal at Konk proved to be the perfect foil for The Leisure Society’s ambitious designs.  Alone Aboard The Ark was recorded on a 2″ tape machine and a 1970s mixing desk, and  the value of recording live, coupled with the band’s minimal approach to arrangement, is borne out across the album. Nick Etwell’s (trumpeter to Mumford & Sons) brass lines permeate “One Man and His Fug”, whilst the electric guitar lines heard on The Last in A Long Line” were the product of Christian and Mike’s two Gretches recorded playing at opposite ends of the studio. Even the piano part for “We Go Together” underwent a nocturnal reinvention when Christian had ‘a moment of inspiration, whilst deeply drunk at midnight listening to the playback”.

The Leisure Society – Alone Aboard The Ark – Track listing:
1. Another Sunday Psalm
2. A Softer Voice Takes Longer Hearing
3. Fight For Everyone
4. Tearing The Arches Down
5. The Sober Scent Of Paper
6. All I Have Seen
7. Everyone Understands
8. Life Is A Cabriolet
9. One Man And His Fug
10. Forever Shall We Wait
11. We Go Together
12. The Last In A Long Line

1 Comment

Filed under listen, new albums, video