Listen: Wintersleep – “Nothing Is Anything (Without You)”

Nova Scotia’s Wintersleep produces music that has the ability to grab listeners with its pop charm and keep them captivated with its subtle complexities. Having won a Juno Award, performed on The Late Show With David Letterman, and spent the last few years touring extensively in support of two successful releases, the band is now gearing up to unleash Hello Hum, a multi-dimensional record full of catchy pop hooks, thoughtful lyrics, and heartfelt sentiment. Co-produced and mixed by Dave Fridmann (MGMT, The Flaming Lips) and Tony Doogan (Belle & Sebastian, Mogwai), Hello Hum is due out June 12th via Roll Call Records/ILG. The album’s first single, “Nothing is Anything (Without You)” premiered with Paste Magazine, who calls it “…an infectious three minute song that shows that the band is back in full force.” Indeed, the track features a lively guitar melody and a driving combination of drum beats and handclaps.

It is available to stream today and will be available for purchase May 15th on all digital retailers. The new record opens with “Hum,” which offers a swirling, slow-building intro to the series of energetic tracks that follow. The upbeat “In Came The Flood” showcases the depth of the band’s sound, featuring melodic vocals atop a densely layered foundation of guitars, vocal harmonies, and driving percussion “Smoke” closes out the album on a softer note, allowing melodic vocals to shine over a subdued instrumental background and steady rolling drum beat. Wintersleep fans will have a chance to catch the band live as they head out on a limited US tour this spring. Having already shared stages with acts like Pearl Jam, Broken Social Scene, Wolf Parade, The Hold Steady and Paul McCartney, be sure to catch Wintersleep in your city!

Listen: Wintersleep – “Nothing Is Anything (Without You)”

Wintersleep Tour Dates

  • 5/29: Los Angeles, CA @ Echo
  • 5/30: San Francisco, CA @ Bottom Of The Hill
  • 5/31: Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
  • 6/1: Seattle, WA @ Columbia City Theater
  • 6/2: Victoria, BC @ Phillips Brewery
  • 6/4: Vancouver, BC @ The Biltmore Caberet
  • 6/5: Calgary, AB @ Hifi Club
  • 6/6: Edmonton, AB @ The Pawn Shop
  • 6/7: Saskatoon, SK @ Amigos
  • 6/8: Winnipeg, MB @ Pyramid Cabaret
  • 6/9: Minneapolis, MN @ 400 Bar
  • 6/11: Chicago, IL @ Schubas Tavern
  • 6/12: Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace
  • 6/14: Cincinnati, OH @ MOTR Pub
  • 6/18: Allston, MA @ Great Scott
  • 6/19: Brooklyn. NY @ Knitting Factory
  • 6/20: Philadelphia, PA @ North Star Bar
  • 8/3: Montreal, QC @ Osheaga
  • 8/25: Squamish, BC @ Live In Squamish

1 Comment

Filed under Awesome, Check 'em Out!, listen, Newest Love, Shows

One response to “Listen: Wintersleep – “Nothing Is Anything (Without You)”

  1. Pingback: Song Of The Day – Wintersleep – “In Came The Flood” « Is It Possible To See It All

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s