Tag Archives: Roll Call Records

ON AN ON – “The Hunter”

Click to listen to “The Hunter” from ON AN ON

ON AN ON have just released “The Hunter” – the second song from their forthcoming debut album Give In, out January 29th via Roll Call Records. “The Hunter” comes on the heals of their incredibly well-received debut single “Ghosts,” which Nylon gushed over as “dream-washed synth-pop that never gets too sweet,” and Consequence of Sound described as “haunted yet exquisitely exposed.” Music lovers seemed to agree, having streamed the song on SoundCloud over 140,000 times in under 5 weeks; an incredibly encouraging phenomenon for a brand new artist’s first introduction to the world.

Buy: ON AN ON – “The Hunter” at iTunes

The Chicago/Minneapolis based trio that make up ON AN ON (Nate Eiesland, Alissa Ricci, and Ryne Estwing) have played music with one another in various capacities for the better part of a decade before collaborating together as a trio. The culmination of a long and precarious, but ultimately rewarding journey, Give In was recorded with producer Dave Newfeld, known for his work on Broken Social Scene’s seminal album You Forgot It In People as well as records from Super Furry Animals and Los Campesinos.

Listen: ON AN ON – “Ghosts” (YACHT Remix)

ON AN ON close out 2012 with a string of dates across the Midwest. Full details can be found below. National 2013 tour dates in support of Give In to be announced soon.


NOVEMBER 30 – Madison, WI @ The Sett

DECEMBER 01 – Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall (w/ Walk The Moon)

DECEMBER 02 – Champaign, IL @ The Velvet Elvis

DECEMBER 03 – East Lansing, MI @ The Loft (w/ Walk The Moon)

DECEMBER 14 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas

DECEMBER 15 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry

Leave a comment

Filed under Awesome, listen, new albums, Shows, video

Listen: Wintersleep – “Nothing Is Anything (Without You)”

Nova Scotia’s Wintersleep produces music that has the ability to grab listeners with its pop charm and keep them captivated with its subtle complexities. Having won a Juno Award, performed on The Late Show With David Letterman, and spent the last few years touring extensively in support of two successful releases, the band is now gearing up to unleash Hello Hum, a multi-dimensional record full of catchy pop hooks, thoughtful lyrics, and heartfelt sentiment. Co-produced and mixed by Dave Fridmann (MGMT, The Flaming Lips) and Tony Doogan (Belle & Sebastian, Mogwai), Hello Hum is due out June 12th via Roll Call Records/ILG. The album’s first single, “Nothing is Anything (Without You)” premiered with Paste Magazine, who calls it “…an infectious three minute song that shows that the band is back in full force.” Indeed, the track features a lively guitar melody and a driving combination of drum beats and handclaps.

It is available to stream today and will be available for purchase May 15th on all digital retailers. The new record opens with “Hum,” which offers a swirling, slow-building intro to the series of energetic tracks that follow. The upbeat “In Came The Flood” showcases the depth of the band’s sound, featuring melodic vocals atop a densely layered foundation of guitars, vocal harmonies, and driving percussion “Smoke” closes out the album on a softer note, allowing melodic vocals to shine over a subdued instrumental background and steady rolling drum beat. Wintersleep fans will have a chance to catch the band live as they head out on a limited US tour this spring. Having already shared stages with acts like Pearl Jam, Broken Social Scene, Wolf Parade, The Hold Steady and Paul McCartney, be sure to catch Wintersleep in your city!

Listen: Wintersleep – “Nothing Is Anything (Without You)”

Wintersleep Tour Dates

  • 5/29: Los Angeles, CA @ Echo
  • 5/30: San Francisco, CA @ Bottom Of The Hill
  • 5/31: Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
  • 6/1: Seattle, WA @ Columbia City Theater
  • 6/2: Victoria, BC @ Phillips Brewery
  • 6/4: Vancouver, BC @ The Biltmore Caberet
  • 6/5: Calgary, AB @ Hifi Club
  • 6/6: Edmonton, AB @ The Pawn Shop
  • 6/7: Saskatoon, SK @ Amigos
  • 6/8: Winnipeg, MB @ Pyramid Cabaret
  • 6/9: Minneapolis, MN @ 400 Bar
  • 6/11: Chicago, IL @ Schubas Tavern
  • 6/12: Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace
  • 6/14: Cincinnati, OH @ MOTR Pub
  • 6/18: Allston, MA @ Great Scott
  • 6/19: Brooklyn. NY @ Knitting Factory
  • 6/20: Philadelphia, PA @ North Star Bar
  • 8/3: Montreal, QC @ Osheaga
  • 8/25: Squamish, BC @ Live In Squamish

1 Comment

Filed under Awesome, Check 'em Out!, listen, Newest Love, Shows