Newest Love: SOHN

As the release of his debut album draws nearer, SOHN has taken time out to film a 4AD Session with filmmaker and photographer Andreas Waldschuetz in his adopted Austria. Recorded in the outskirts of Vienna, SOHN – flanked by his live band Albin Janoska (synths) and Stefan Fallmann (bass) – performed four songs from his forthcoming album Tremors. The first of those videos is “Artifice” shown above.

“‘Artifice’ was shot in a wide open studio space outside of Vienna – the biggest soundstage in Austria,” says Austrian filmmaker Andreas Waldschuetz. “I chose a reduced and slick backdrop for the video as I wanted to the overall look to be completely clean and futuristic. I recently rewatched Stanley Kubrick’s Space Odyssey 2001 and was pretty inspired by it. Listening to “Artifice” the first thing that popped into my head were neon tubes – I love neon lights. I love its coldness and sterility, and the graphical element that comes with it. All in all a glitchy piece of art.”

To coincide with the release of Tremors, SOHN will play select dates across North America this May – see full list of dates below. For a full tour schedule head to www.sohnmusic.com/shows

SOHN LIVE DATES

  • Wed May 7 – Rock & Roll Hotel – Washington, DC
  • Thu May 8 – Johnny Brenda’s – Philadelphia, PA
  • Fri,May 9 – Bowery Ballroom – New York, NY
  • Sat May 10 – Rough Trade – Brooklyn, NY
  • Mon May 12 – The Sinclair – Cambridge, MA
  • Thu May 15 – Crofoot Ballroom (Pike Room) – Pontiac, MI
  • Fri May 16 – Bottom Lounge – Chicago, IL
  • Sat May 17 – 7th St Entry, Minneapolis, MN
  • Wed May 21 – The Crocodile – Seattle, WA
  • Thu May 22 – Holocene – Portland, OR
  • Sat May 24 – The Independent – San Francisco, CA
  • Sun May 25 – Casbah – San Diego, CA
  • Tue May 27 – Troubadour – Los Angeles, CA
Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Awesome, listen, new albums, Newest Love, Shows, video

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.