Tag Archives: jam band

Byron Nash & Plan B: ” A Band Born Out of Pure Friendship and Love For Making Music”

Photo: afayepr.com

Photo: afayepr.com

Byron Nash, a Pittsburgh based musician, has been doing this music thing for a long time. While playing lead guitar of the band Formula412, he worked on writing and recording some ideas and keeping them on the “back-burner” you could say. This “back-burner” was called ‘Plan B’.

After collecting over 10 years of songs and ideas, Nash took some music production courses and eventually started his own music company, BNDEEPendent Music. He and his friend Evan Thorsen had been jamming and hanging out together for years; when they finally decided to play some of their songs live in 2014. After great reception, they were asked the following year to play at Kayafest, a restaurant that was having it’s 20th Year Anniversary block party. They put together a makeshift band of talented musicians and again were met with great praise…enough that they finally decided to go forth full throttle as a band.

All they had to do was come up with their name. It was suggested that their name simply be ‘Nash’, but Byron felt weird about it being just his name. So — ta-da!!! Byron Nash & Plan B it is!

And they’ve got a little bit of something for everyone, too! The band is  “a well-balanced fusion of rocking dual-guitars, funk-and-soul, straight-forward and emotional vocals, simple songwriting, and a little bit of jam-band and fusion mixed in there.”

The band is having a very special release party for their very first EP, The Late Bloomer, this Friday at The Funhouse at Mr. Smalls.

Check out the Facebook event HERE

Leave a comment

Filed under Awesome, Band Change-ups, Check 'em Out!, new albums, Shows

Check ‘Em Out: Jesus on the Mainline

Photo Source: Crave

Photo Source: Crave

“…A rising sound that swells like a wave as it blends the spirit of Aretha Franklin into a soulful dance-romp through territories inhabited by Fitz and The Tantrums, Portugal The Man and beyond.” – Crave

This fifteen-piece collective blends blues, jazz and soul for a larger-than-life sound reminiscent of rock greats like The Black Crowes and Joe Cocker.

artworks-000074224422-67r1by-t500x500

Listen: Jesus on the Mainline – “War”

Leave a comment

Filed under Awesome, Check 'em Out!, listen, Whoa!

New Download: O’Death’s “Bugs”

Check out this new video from O’Death: Filmed on the coast of Maine, the video depicts a duo of mysterious, masked individuals, in abstract journey and ritual, seemingly swallowed by darkness. Simultaneously colorful and dark, the video is the perfect companion to the evocative song.

O’Death is a 6 member American folk rock band from Brooklyn. Today they are beginning an extensive tour in support of their new album, Outside. Everyone knows I’m not too big on folk music, but I am loving these guys. With the usage of a banjo, fiddle and ukulele, their music is more upbeat and happier than other “folk” music. I cannot wait to go see these guys JAM out when they’re here in Pittsburgh next month. If you have the chance to make it to one of their shows, you should take up on it, it’s sure to be a great time. 

Listen/download the first track (and possibly my favorite) from the new album: “Bugs

O’DEATH TOUR DATES:

  • Wednesday, Mar. 30 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret w/ The Strange Boys, Natural Child
  • Thursday, Mar. 31 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge
  • Friday, Apr. 1 – Missoula, MT @ The Palace w/ The Strange Boys, Natural Child
  • Saturday, Apr. 2 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux w/ The Strange Boys, Natural Child
  • Sunday, Apr. 3 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge w/ The Strange Boys, Natural Child
  • Monday, Apr. 4 – Denver, CO @ Hi-Dive w/ The Strange Boys, Natural Child
  • Tuesday, Apr. 5 – Pueblo, CO @ Red Raven Gallery w/ Sasquatch, The Haunted Windchimes
  • Wednesday, Apr. 6 – Lincoln, NE @ Bourbon Theatre
  • Thursday, Apr. 7 – Fargo, ND @ The Aquarium
  • Friday, Apr. 8 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club w/ Grandchildren
  • Saturday, Apr. 9 – Chicago, IL @ Beat Kitchen w/ Grandchildren
  • Monday, Apr. 11 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop w/ The Hollows, Grandchildren
  • Tuesday, Apr. 12 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Thunderbird Cafe w/ Grandchildren
  • Wednesday, Apr. 13 – Grantham, PA @ Messiah College
  • Thursday, Apr. 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie w/ Grandchildren
  • Friday, Apr. 15 – Brooklyn, NY @ Knitting Factory w/ Grandchildren
  • Saturday, Apr. 16 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott
  • Wednesday, Apr. 27 – Dublin, Ireland @ the Workman’s Club
  • Thursday, Apr. 28 – Cork, Ireland @ Crane Lane Theatre
  • Friday, Apr. 29 – Clonakilty, Ireland @ De Barras
  • Saturday, Apr. 30- Galway, Ireland @ Kelly’s Bar & Lounge
  • Monday, May 2 – London, UK @ Cargo
  • Wednesday, May 4 – Paris, France @ La Fleche d’Or
  • Thursday, May 5 – Luzern, Switzerland @ Vasco da Gama, Frigorex
  • Friday, May 6 – Schaffhausen, Switzerland @ Tap Tab
  • Saturday, May 7 – Zürich, Switzerland @ El Lokal
  • Sunday, May 8 – Schorndorf, Germany @ Manfaktur
  • Monday, May 9 – Munich, Germany @ Feierwerk
  • Wednesday, May 11 – Prague, Czech Republic @ K4
  • Thursday, May 12 – Dresden, Germany @ Beatpol
  • Friday, May 13 – Leipzig, Germany @ Conne Island
  • Saturday, May14 – Berlin, Germany @ Privatclub
  • Monday, May 16 – Hamburg, Germany @ Molotow
  • Tuesday, May 17 – Nuremberg, Germany @ MuZ
  • Wednesday, May 18 – Cologne, Germany @ Studio 672
  • Saturday, May 21 – Middleburg, The Netherlands @ De Spot

Leave a comment

Filed under Check 'em Out!, downloads, new albums, Shows, video

Show Review: Plants and Animals

Post classic rock is the descriptive term the members of Plants and Animals sometimes use when categorizing their band. Some might refer to it as plain and general indie rock (but really, what can’t be called that?) or a jam band. They can be called all of these genres; what matters is that this 3-piece band ROCKS.

Click here to read more over at Pop Damage

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews