Tag Archives: Warp Records

Plaid Announces New Album

Warp Records are pleased to announce the release of Plaid’s tenth album, Reachy Prints. The work confirms their position at the vanguard of underground electronic music production, whilst retaining their trademark emotive and playful signature style present throughout their career.

After 25 years together as Plaid, Andy Turner and Ed Handley are still true innovators within their field. Reachy Prints continues the evolution in Plaid’s long nurtured sound and reveals some of its hidden, most complex domains.

HPre-order Reachy Prints at Bleep

01. OH
02. Hawkmoth
03. Nafovanny
04. Slam
05. Wallet
06. Matin Lunaire
07. Tether
08. Ropen
09. Liverpool St

Leave a comment

Filed under Awesome, listen, new albums

Video: patten – “Agen”

Abstract” is a word that often gets thrown around when talking about experimental music, but patten’s sounds are genuinely intangible, amorphous and seem to be constantly in flux. Familiar sounds become foreign, foreign sounds seem familiar, and it’s impossible to say where one thing ends and another begins.” – FADER

juggles multiple rhythms, moving at drastically different BPMs through its distorted drum beats, airy pitch shifted vocals, and choppy editing like a sunnier take on Actress” – Stereogum

The video for “Agen”, taken from upcoming record ESTOILE NAIANT, is an elegant exercise in typology, directed by regular collaborator Jane Eastlight. Trawling hundreds of image search terms to create a unique vision of a fever-dreaming stream of consciousness, Eastlight’s ultra-modern psychedelia perfectly mirrors patten’s entrancing and opulent sound.

ESTOILE NAIANT, patten’s debut album on Warp will be released on February 25. The full-length sees him step out of the shadows and into full focus as a producer of impending resonance. patten has already performed in front of thousands at the Tate in London, and played in the US for the first time in early January in NYC with shows at Joe’s Pub as part of an APAP showcase, Output, and participated in the first 285 Kent farewell show along with Laurel Halo and Autre Ne Veut.

unnamed (5)

01. Gold arc
02. Here always
03. Drift
04. Winter strobing
05. Softer
06. Pathways
07. 23-45
08. Key embedded
09. Agen
10. LL2

1 Comment

Filed under Check 'em Out!, listen, new albums, video

Check ‘Em Out: Kwes


Warp Records are pleased to announce the release of Kwes’ debut album ilp following last year’s critically acclaimed EP meantime.

The new track “36” off the album is inspired by the enduring love Kwes witnessed between his grandparents. His music displays an unabashed honesty that highlights his ability to craft heart-on-the-sleeve songs about relationships. The foundation for which is his experimental take on pop which he refers to as Freepop, forged by his dual love of “mad” sounds and personal songwriting. But for Kwes, it is more of a creative process than a sound, marked by his desire to keep learning and trying out new things.

Last year, he made his first appearance at SXSW, and was heralded by New York Magazine’s Nitsuh Abebe as one of the festival’s standout discoveries. Other live performances were as part of Bobby Womack’s “super group” which also included another Kwes collaborator, Damon Albarn. The group made an appearance on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon, which can be viewed HERE.

“open-hearted… mixes a homemade aesthetic with swirling electronics” – Pitchfork

“the right combination of ego and insecurity to lure listeners into his lush, sentimental world”– Village Voice

“velveteen blend of handcrafted, ultra-earnest electronica” – SPIN


Listen: Kwes – “36”


01. purplehands
02. 36
03. rollerblades
04. cablecar
05. flower
06. hives
07. broke
08. chagall
09. parakeet
10. b_shf_l

Leave a comment

Filed under Check 'em Out!, new albums