Tag Archives: Mazzy Star

Download: The Shoe – “Paper Cup”


Jena Malone and Lem Jay Ignacio, aka The Shoe, first met at a Christmas carol party at the Mandrake in Los Angeles, California in 2008. They ended up playing that night and meeting for the first time on stage. They performed “Walking in a Winter Wonderland” but with Jena singing completely in scat-style gibberish and Lem Jay musically not missing a beat. A unique musical friendship and language was born.

Jena had built an instrument she called “The Shoe” which was simply an old steamer trunk she dollied around with a plethora of electronic instruments inside. She brought it over to Lem Jay’s garage to jam soon after they met. Lem Jay, who is a pianist and music producer said:

“From that night, it seemed like she was always over and we were always free-styling, making up songs, playing abstract piano duets, psychotherapy rants and love spells. We’d stay up all night recording all our jams, sometimes we’d improvise complete songs from start to finish. I think we literally have over a hundred hours of nights like this. Since we did this so much, it was hard to know what it was, whether it was a band or an art project or just two friends constantly making music.”

The band’s first EP, At Lem Jay’s Garage, came out in 2009 under Jena’s label, There Was An Old Woman Records.

The Shoe’s sophomore effort, I’m Okayalso recorded in Lem Jay’s garage, beautifully captures the essence of today’s pop music. Malone, her voice sailing tenderly amongst Ignacio’s poignant arrangements, recites witty lyrics, resembling those of the grand songstresses Joni Mitchell or Rickie Lee Jones. The instrumentation, a Wurlitzer piano, an electric guitar, a bass and percussion, interweaves in the most handsome, yet minimalistic ways, borrowing elements from the fuzzy surf pop of the Beach Boys, the dreamy shoe gaze of Mazzy Star and the catchy melodies of Sara Bareilles’ classic pop songs.

Of this newest effort Jena says “This new record means so much more to me because I actually wanted to write songs. I wanted to craft them more than I had ever done. I love the art of freestyle, for me I always start there as a songwriter, but this record was different. I wanted to tell stories everyone could feel and understand, not just me.“

Jena Malone has been acting for over 19 years in independent and blockbuster films. Most recently seen in The Hunger Games: Catching Fire and soon to be seen in Paul Thomas Anderson’s film Inherent Vice. She has been making music for eight years and has self-released two albums as Jena Malone and her Bloodstains.

Lem Jay has made music with many different artists, including Zooey Deschanel and Charlyne Yi. He has composed music for brands such as Pokémon and Converse and for art projects at MOCA, LACMA, and The Hammer Museum.



Listen/download: The Shoe – “Paper Cup”


Also: Check out Jena on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon talking about The Shoe.

Leave a comment

Filed under Check 'em Out!, downloads, Interviews, new albums

Newest Love: Francis Lung

“…burns with a sharper melody…yet bristles with discontent as it seems to address Wu Lyf’s tumultuous band dynamics with the lyrics” – Dazed Digital
Francis Lung unveils his brilliant new single, “A Selfish Man,” an ambling slice of sophisticated pop that explores the more difficult side of human nature with a nod to his former band’s break up. As his first proper release, Francis Lung partnered with the always on point French label Atelier Ciseaux for A Selfish Man 7″ which includes the Mazzy Star infused b-side “Tsunami Blues (Cause of Me)” due out 1/16. Album art by Tom McClung.
Francis Lung is the moniker of Manchester resident and former bassist of the ever enigmatic WU LYF, Tom McClung. Late last year Francis Lung revealed the first taste of the project with the sublime “Age Limits” stream and accompanying video. Although currently still in progress, his debut collection of music under the working title Faeher’s Son was written over a 3 year period spanning before, during and after the experience in WU LYF, the collection of Francis Lung material bares witness to a fair amount of turbulence and reflection. A true a solo effort, McClung plays every instrument on the tracks and self-records from his home.

Leave a comment

Filed under Awesome, Check 'em Out!, Newest Love

Whaaaaaaaaat??? New Music From Mazzy Star!

Mazzy Star recently announced the worldwide release of their eagerly anticipated fourth studio album, Seasons Of Your Day on September 24th. In support of the new album, Mazzy Star are taking to the road for a full North American tour of multiple cities including Los Angeles on November 7th, Toronto on November 16th, and Montreal on November 17th .

Co-written by Hope Sandoval and David Roback, Seasons Of Your Day was recorded in California and Norway.   The album features performances by all the original members of Mazzy Star along with special guests including ColmO’Ciosoig (My Bloody Valentine) and a special appearance by the late, legendary Bert Jansch. The album was produced by David Roback and Hope Sandoval and will be released on their own label, Rhymes Of An Hour Records, and distributed through INgrooves and Fontana North.

Seasons Of Your Day is Mazzy Star’s fourth studio LP, preceded by She Hangs Brightly (1990), So Tonight That I Might See (1993) and Among My Swan (1996). Seasons Of Your Day is the second release on Rhymes Of An Hour Records and follows the single “Common Burn / Lay Myself Down” (2011).

Tour Dates 

  • November 3              Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
  • November 4              Seattle, WA @ Neptune
  • November 6              San Francisco, CA @ Warfield Theatre
  • November 7              Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern
  • November 10            Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre
  • November 12            Minneapolis, M N @ Mill City Nights
  • November 13            Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre
  • November 15            Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre
  • November 16           Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
  • November 17           Montreal, QC @ Club Soda
  • November 19            Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club
  • November 20            New York, NY @ Terminal 5
  • November 22            Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
  • November 23            Silver Spring, MD @ The Fillmore

Leave a comment

Filed under Awesome, Band Change-ups, Highly Anticipated, Holy Freaking Crap!, listen, new albums, Shows, Whoa!