Tag Archives: Blackbook

Newest Love: Sleep Party People

“(The Sun Will Open Its Core) marries the psychedelic weirdness of MGMT with the Euro-y sonic tenets of early 80s Mitteleuropa synth-pop. It’s both grandiose and intimate, eerie but inviting. It also has a point to make.” – BlackBook

“‘Lingering’, which will be released on June 2nd through Joyful Noise Recordings, is poised to be one of the year’s best records. With a deft and intoxicating brand of dreamy pop, as well as collaborations from the likes of Peter Silberman from The Antlers and Beth Hirsch (best known for providing vocals on Air’s masterpiece Moon Safari), Lingering has all the ingredients to be a smash success.” – The 405

BlackBook has shared Sleep Party People’s “The Sun Will Open Its Core”, the third single from the forthcoming album Lingering. “The Sun Will Open…” follows two previously released singles, “Fainting Spell” & “The Missing Steps”. Written, recorded, produced and performed entirely by Danish multi-instrumentalist Brian Batz, Lingering – featuring collaborations with The Antlers’ Peter Silberman & Air vocalist Beth Hirsch – is Sleep Party People’s fourth studio album and the first release since 2014’s Floating. Watch the video for “The Missing Steps” here. Lingering is due out June 2nd, 2017 via Joyful Noise Recordings.

When talking about the track Batz says, “I got really frustrated and emotionally upset when the whole refugee debate in Denmark was at its highest. I felt extremely indignant in terms of how society dealt with this problem. Normally I don’t go into politics, especially not in my music, but this was kind of inevitable.”

“I don’t get how people can reject human beings, who are fleeing from their destroyed homes and cities. What if it happened to us? Wouldn’t we do the same and ask for help and do whatever we felt necessary? We should be able to help each other even if we don’t agree on religion, politics or what we eat and wear. It puzzles me that some people out there can’t see the reason in helping. I had to write a song about this. Period.”

Though Copenhagen-based Batz & his 5-piece live band have become synonymous with the rabbit masks they wear during Sleep Party People live performances, Lingering finds Batz shedding his guard to create some of the most personal and accessible material of his career. Whilst “The Missing Steps” and other moments on Lingering engage demonstrably with bliss (also the woozy, unhurried not-quite title track, “Lingering Eyes”), it is nonetheless a record also concerned with anxiety and doubt, and the ways in which we cope with those insecurities that can persist through adulthood.

A personal high-water mark for Batz from Lingering is the appearance of Air-collaborator Beth Hirsch, who guests on “We Are There Together”. A longstanding fan of classic album Moon Safari, he was left tongue-tied when Hirsch contacted him out of the blue, seeking out a collaboration. Whilst Lingering is enriched by several such artistic collaborations – with The Antlers’ Peter Silberman also providing choir arrangements on “Dissensions” – it is equally shaped by Batz’s famously eccentric collection of instruments. “Salix And His Soil” came about when Batz bought an old organ; “When I turned the organ on for the first time, it started playing this crazy fast Super Mario Brothers-ish beat and loop by itself. I got hooked straight away and started jamming along”.  Elsewhere, “Fainting Spell” rests entirely on a piano loop played out on the snapped wires of his battered old studio piano.

On Lingering’s album-closer “Vivid Dream”, Batz sings of ‘Beating down my own door. Aiming to be flawless and without any mistakes’. Flawed or otherwise, in Lingering, he has unmistakably created a thing of stark beauty.


1. Figures
2. The Missing Steps
3. Fainting Spell
4. Salix And His Soil
5. Lingering Eyes
6. Dissensions (Feat. Luster)
7. Limitations
8. The Sound Of His Daughter
9. The Sun Will Open Its Core
10. We Are There Together (Feat. Beth Hirsch)
11. Odd Forms
12. Vivid Dream

Leave a comment

Filed under Awesome, Check 'em Out!, listen, Lists, new albums, video

Listen: Mainland – Shiner EP


Listen: Mainland – Shiner EP

Watch the video for “Leave the Lights On” below

“Though lead singer Jordan Topf sneers, “Living in the city, I get so bored,” with Julian Casablancas-like aplomb in the track’s bridge, the adolescent energy and colorful nostalgia of these visuals are anything but blasé.” – SPIN

“the spirit of the sunkissed old rock is well alive in this piece, with an infectious guitar line to hook and a solid bass and drum section which gives it an almost krautrocky, motorik feel.” – Tiny Mix Tapes

“They’re great on stage, with tons of humor and energy in each show.” – Blackbook

“Mainland has released a perfect ode to summer: the video for their single “Leave The Lights On.” – Earmilk

“Brooklyn indie rockers Mainland recently released their sophomore EP Shiner featuring four diverse songs of driven guitar rock, including noteworthy single “Savant” (streaming), an upbeat and semi-epic punk rock gem bearing sonic overtones ranging from spaghetti western soundtracks to the irresistible punk-folk of The Pogues.” – The Deli

Leave a comment

Filed under Awesome, Check 'em Out!, listen, video

Check It Out: Waxploitation / ZZK Compilation

“Whether it’s making thousands of European ravers lose their shit at Roskilde, winning over tents of sunburned Americans at Coachella, or inspiring Argentines to dance to something besides endless drum and bass, the artists of Zizek have gone from their own tropical new-school cumbia club night in Buenos Aires to stages all over the world.”Blackbook

“There’s really nothing like ZZK Records anywhere in the world: the avant Argentinian label releases experimental, digital cumbias and other unique interpretations traditional Latin genres; acts as a family, collective and nightclub in Buenos Aires; and, of course, travels the globe.” Fader

Buenos Aires’ ZZK Records officially signed on with Waxploitation here in the U.S., and to celebrate the partnership, the labels have released an compilation of all the label’s artists for free via Soundcloud. You can hear it HERE. If you’re not familiar with ZZK, they’re the label that’s leading the experimental electronic music scene in South America, mixing disparate genres like grime and dance with cumbia and other influences. You can read Fader’s feature on the scene here for some background.

The labels will be jointly releasing the Argentinian label’s catalog, which includes Temor, Frikstailers, Chancha via Circuito, and more. Waxploitation/ZZK will be putting out the debut Super Guachin EP, Piratas y Fichines, today, followed by Fauna’s full length album Manshines on January 10th, as well as Mati Zundel’s debut album Amazonico Gravitante on March 27th. If you’re not familiar with Waxploitation, it’s the label/management company that brought up Danger Mouse, Gnarls Barkley, and Broken Bells, as well as the Causescompilations.

Leave a comment

Filed under Check 'em Out!, listen, Whoa!